Letting Go

“The minute you think of giving up, think of all the reasons why you held on for so long” – Unknown

This quote is taped to the toilet paper dispenser in the right stall of the bathroom on my residence floor. Every time I want to drop out of school, every time I have a fight with a friend, every time I look in the mirror and am unhappy with what I see, those words are a cheesy reminder of why I’m here, why we’re friends and all of the things I love about myself. Those words help me pick up the pieces of my current crisis and move on. So far this has been a fool-proof method. Fool-proof up until now that is. I have this friend, a best friend, a few months ago I believed I needed them in my life forever, I thought I would do anything to remain friends…but now I’m not so sure. Their behaviour and attitude towards our friendship the past month has caused me to question whether or not I have room in my life for them anymore. We’ve had our share of arguments and dislikes but up until now we’ve made up and our friendship comes our stronger. When I’m mad at them I usually just think of those words and can come up with a million reasons why I love them and why they are my best friend. But today I’m coming up short. I have no reasons to hold on anymore…so what happens next? I read every quote posted on the bathroom walls and not one has provided me with a next step. If I’m holding on for no reason I guess it only makes sense to let go.

About Megan :)

I love music, boardgames, late-night car rides, laughing with my friends, grocery shopping with my mom and napping with my dog. … because thing’s change. And friends leave. And life doesn’t stop for anybody. – Perks of Being a Wallflower
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

