Current Pet Peeves:

Really the title should be Permanent Pet Peeve as this is something that has previously and will continue to pushed my buttons for the rest of my existence.

When people criticize someone’s taste in music. Obviously it’s more annoying when people do it to me (it happens on the regular) but really it shouldn’t be happening to anyone. I’m a firm believer that we are free to listen to any kind of music that floats our boats!!! Really the more variety the better. I like a lot of indie bands and often when people who share my love of bands like Arcade Fire or The Black Keys find out that I can’t go a day without listening to Lady Gaga and Elton John I usually get a weird look and the conversation comes to an awkward halt. Confining your listening to only one type of music is stupid, especially when you’re only doing it to maintain your so-called “credibility”. I mostly speaking to hipsters here: Everyone is allowed to have their own opinion and just because you listen to country, top 40 or the newest Disney creation doesn’t mean your opinion is no longer valid. We can’t all wear skinny jeans and vintage t-shirts while sitting in a pub drinking PBR and listing off all the bands you like that you know no one else has heard off in order to have our opinions matter. Whoever came up with the tee shirts that say “I listen to bands that don’t even exist yet” should be punched in the face. I just don’t understand how the world has gotten to the point where you have to act like a mega-douche in order for your opinion to be valid.

When friends exclude you from everything they do and then act surprised when you get mad about it. This is especially annoying in a group of three friends as you can see in the math:

3 friends – 2 friends = 1 lonely chica.

My Sister. I feel safe adding her to my list of pet peeves because I know she does not read my blog, even though i ALWAYS read her blog. And I always leave her comments. It would be nice if she would stop being such a ho-bag and return the favour.

When a friend asks other people if you’re mad at them. Just ask me! Usually I’m not mad, but I give off an aura of anger so people often think I’m mad at them when I’m not. I’ve gotten used to it so it doesn’t bother me but it does bother me when a friend avoids me or talks to other people about me because they think I’m mad at them. Avoiding makes everything worse and if you want to know how I’m feeling at the moment I’l probably the best source.

Being alone. I’ve always been fairly independent…I need my alone time. I like to shop alone, I like to watch t.v. alone, I like to drive alone, sleep alone, work out alone, eat alone and the list goes on. I don’t know why I need my alone time so much, when I’m with other people I can’t help but feeling like they don’t want me around, I never get that feeling when I’m by myself. But lately I’ve been experiencing chronic loneliness. My roommate has a very active social life and is usually not in our room and because of pet peeve #2 my friend situation at school is not going so well right now. I liked being alone when I felt like it was my choice, and now when I want to be with other people there is no one around. It is not a good situation.

When I realize that something is my fault. After writing about how I now hate being alone I’m forced to realize that it’s mostly my fault. I spend so much time pushing people away, being unsocial, choosing to only have a couple of good friends and now it’s coming back to haunt me.

When I can’t remember the name of a song and by the time I get to my computer to google it I forget the lyrics. Self explanatory.

I realize that this detailed list of stuff that pisses me off on a daily basis simply adds to my reputation of being a generally grouchy person. I guess my mother was right about me.

About Megan :)

I love music, boardgames, late-night car rides, laughing with my friends, grocery shopping with my mom and napping with my dog. … because thing’s change. And friends leave. And life doesn’t stop for anybody. – Perks of Being a Wallflower
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

