Everybody’s Going to Love Today

It’s is always mind blowing to me that a day set aside to celebrate love always manages to bring out an extra dose of hate.

Valentines Day is cheesy and over commercialized, I don’t think anyone would doubt that. But I still like the idea of it. Yes we should tell the people we love that we love them everyday, not just on Vday. But I think we all tend to forget that, we all get caught up in our lives and forget how lucky we are to have love in our lives no matter what type of love it is. Valentines day serves as a reminder of how lucky we are to love our families and friends, boyfriends and girlfriends. The same way that Christmas is supposed to remind us to love Jesus (right?).

I don’t like everything about Vday, it is too much about buying crap. You don’t need a greeting card, a box of chocolates or expensive jewellery  to tell someone you love them. I just like the spirit of Valentines, I love to see people in love. I love that people wear red and pink. I love seeing paper hearts taped to windows and trays of cupcakes with pink frosting.

Yesterday my Facebook newsfeed was blown up with girls talking about the stupidity of Valentines day. The common trend is that they are all bitter and exclaiming how stupid Valentines day is and if you buy into it you are stupid too. Yes, for many Valentines day serves as a monumental reminder that we don’t have any romance goin’ on at the moment. But it doesn’t have to. For the last 20 Vdays in a row, I have found myself without a boyfriend and for the later years, at the time I was probably bitter too. But now when I think about it, ai may not have had a boyfriend, but I always had love of some kind. And I think any kind of love, plutonic and romantic alike, deserve a day of celebration because both are truly amazing. And I feel incredibly lucky to have friends and family that I know love me, even if it isn’t the kind of love Cosmo and Jennifer Aniston movies tell me I should have.

About Megan :)

I love music, boardgames, late-night car rides, laughing with my friends, grocery shopping with my mom and napping with my dog. … because thing’s change. And friends leave. And life doesn’t stop for anybody. – Perks of Being a Wallflower
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

