Thursday.

I left my house tonight with the intention of going to Chapters to spend money I don’t have on a book I don’t need. But my desire to waste time and prolong my return home lead me to the drive through Starbucks. I was waiting at the window for my half-caf hazelnut latte when one of the baristas (not the one who had taken my precious $5 and was making my drink) opened the window to ask how my day was going. When a complete stranger is nice and friendly, it always throws me off a little. I’m so used to people in my age bracket being complete aholes and acting like it is super weird to be nice to people unles you want something from them. Anyhoo, this barista ( I unfortunately did not catch his name) starts telling me how I made a great choice with the hazelnut latte claiming he drinking them every time he works. He said he used to go for the sugar free in attempt to ward off diabetes but eventually, switched back because by the time it sets in, he thinks there will be a cure. I commented on his strange yet refreshing optimism and he proceeded to role up his sleeve to reveal a fairly big tattoo that simply says ” never worry” with a short but meaningful Bob Dylan quote underneath. The combination of the words and his overall friendly and positive attitude really made my day, it’s amazing how a 2 minute conversation with a total stranger can erase all of the bad moments of a day. And the words “never worry” imprinted boldly on his skin have stuck with me for the rest of my night. Such a simple idea that is often overlooked and I need to work better on remembering to stick to it.

About Megan :)

I love music, boardgames, late-night car rides, laughing with my friends, grocery shopping with my mom and napping with my dog. … because thing’s change. And friends leave. And life doesn’t stop for anybody. – Perks of Being a Wallflower
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

