Earth Day, Unobserved

I call myself an environmentalist. I harp on people who drink water from plastic bottles, I lecture my friends about the ins and outs of recycling, I’m a proud vegetarian and I of course have dedicated my University studies to greening our communities and protecting our natural resources. I frequently boast about shopping in thrift stores and that one time I washed my hair with baking soda. I read about a billion articles a week on National Geographic, Tree Hugger and any other new outlet that highlights environmental issues. I lecture my coworkers about using the compost properly; I carry a travel mug portable silverware wherever I go. I’d like to think I’m dedicated.

But this past weekend, I, the so-called “environmentalist”, did absolutely nothing to celebrate earth day…and I’m ashamed. Unless you count a lame Facebook status and the fact that I took advantage of Starbucks environmental efforts by nabbing a free coffee in my $20 travel mug. Of course I could take some of the heat off of myself by pointing out the fact that Starbucks is a billion dollar, Multi-national Corporation (that sounds right, right?). And all they did was give away a few cups of coffee, which they likely paid about 10 cents a bag for, while simultaneously charging $10 for a muffin that was shipped in from god-knows-where. But that’s an entirely different rant.

Back to my original point, I know what you’re thinking… “This bitch lectured me about my carbon footprint and she couldn’t even get off her couch to plant a goddamned tree on the most sacred tree hugging day of the year?!”

I’m sorry, Earth. That’s all I can say. I know it’s too little too late and a promise to do better next year will likely mean nothing to you. For the next year I will work overtime to make up for my unacceptable behavior. Next year, it’s all about you and me, babe. I’ve only got eyes for you; you are my world, no pun intended. 

 

 

About Megan :)

I love music, boardgames, late-night car rides, laughing with my friends, grocery shopping with my mom and napping with my dog. … because thing’s change. And friends leave. And life doesn’t stop for anybody. – Perks of Being a Wallflower
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

